ACTION ALERT! Support Angela Chan For Reappontment to the Police Commission

The San Francisco Women’s Political Committee is concerned about the effort to block the reappointment of Angela Chan to a second term on the Police Commission. We urge you to read our letter of support below and contact your supervisor to support Angela.

Dear Members of the Board of Supervisors,

On behalf of the San Francisco Women’s Political Committee, I am writing to extend our highest recommendation for the reappointment of Angela Chan to the Police Commission. Angela was unanimously nominated by the Rules Committee for a second term to this important commission. Her nomination is scheduled to come before the full Board of Supervisors for a vote tomorrow, April 29th. We are writing to urge you to vote “yes” on her reappointment.

SFWPC is the largest and most active women’s political organization in San Francisco. We are committed to elevating women into positions of leadership including elected office, boards, commissions and management positions. Women make up over half of society and thus, women must be equal partners in all areas of the political process.

As a police commissioner for the past four years, Angela has been a role model for other women, particularly women of color, to take leadership roles. Although other good candidates may have been introduced in the Rules Committee, there was nothing presented as to why Angela should not be reappointed. In cases like this, it’s critical for our City’s leadership to put their votes where their rhetoric is in terms of gender parity and make sure that women that have the interest, ability, and track record to be reappointed are not cast aside for men with the same credentials.
Angela plays a key role on the commission in giving voice to the concerns and needs of underrepresented communities, including women, immigrants, and people of color. She has worked hard to represent the interests of San Francisco residents in having a fair and transparent police department that prioritizes community policing.

Currently, there are three women (including Angela), and three men on the Police Commission (and one seat that has not been filled). Angela has an excellent attendance record, has worked hard to engage community members on improving community policing, and has been accessible and supportive to diverse members in the police department including African American, Asian, and female police officers. Her record on the commission strongly qualifies her for a reappointment and will help maintain gender balance on the commission.

For these reasons, we urge you to reappoint Angela Chan to the police commission. Thank you for your consideration.

Laura Hahn
President, SFWPC

Please contact the members of the Board of Supervisors to urge them to reappoint Commissioner Chan before today’s hearing.

John Avalos, District 11
Phone: (415) 554-6975
Fax: (415) 554-6979
John.Avalos@sfgov.org

London Breed, District 5
Phone: (415) 554-7630
Fax: (415) 554-7634
London.Breed@sfgov.org

David Chiu. District 3
Phone: (415) 554-7450
Fax: (415) 554-7454
David.Chiu@sfgov.org

Malia Cohen, District 10
Phone: (415) 554-7670
Fax: (415) 554-7674
Malia.Cohen@sfgov.org

Mark Farrell, District 2
Phone: (415) 554-7752
Fax: (415) 554-7843
Mark.Farrell@sfgov.org

Jane Kim, District 6
Phone: (415) 554-7970
Fax: (415) 554-7974
Jane.Kim@sfgov.org

Katy Tang, District 4
Phone: (415) 554-7460
Fax: (415) 554-7432
Katy.Tang@sfgov.org

Scott Wiener, District 8
Phone: (415) 554-6968
Fax: (415) 554-6909
Scott.Wiener@sfgov.org

David Campos, District 9
Phone: (415) 554-5144
Fax: (415) 554-6255
David.Campos@sfgov.org

Eric Mar, District 1
Phone: (415) 554-7410
Fax: (415) 554-7415
Eric.L.Mar@sfgov.org

Norman Yee, District 7
Phone: (415) 554-6516
Fax: (415) 554-6546
Norman.Yee@sfgov.org

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.

Instagram/@SFWPC

connect

get updates